Stacking the Shelves #3

Posted: October 13, 2012 in Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga of Tynga’s Reviews. This is our opportunity to show off all the lovely books that we got during the week. Please feel free to leave links to your STS/IMM in the comments below and I’ll drop by and check it out 🙂  I have decided to post the books that I got for both of my blogs in 1 STS post to save myself a little time.

Library Books
 
The False Prince (The Ascendance Trilogy, #1)
THE FALSE PRINCE is the thrilling first book in a brand-new trilogy filled with danger and deceit and hidden identities that will have readers rushing breathlessly to the end.

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point — he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

 
Through My Eyes
Over the course of the last five years, Tim Tebow established himself as one of the greatest quarterbacks in the history of college football and a top prospect in the NFL. During that time he amassed an unparalleled resume–winning two BCS national championships, becoming the first sophomore in NCAA history to win the Heisman trophy, and in the face of massive public scrutiny, being drafted in the first round of the NFL draft by the Denver Broncos.

Now, in “Through My Eyes,” Tebow brings readers everywhere an inspirational memoir about life as he chose to live it, revealing how his faith and family values, combined with his relentless will to succeed, have molded him into the person that he is today. As the son of Christian missionaries, Tebow has a unique story to tell–from the circumstances of his birth, to his home-schooled roots, to his record-setting collegiate football career with the Florida Gators and everything else that took place in between.

At every step, Tebow’s life has defied convention and expectation. While aspects of his life have been well-documented, the stories have always been filtered through the opinions and words of others. “Through My Eyes” is his passionate, firsthand, never-before-told account of how it all really happened.

 
E-Books
The Marriage Trap (Marriage to a Billionaire, #2)
WIFE WANTED…

Italian billionaire seeks faux fiancée. Willing to agree to anything in return…

In order for his sister to marry, Italian billionaire Michael Conte has to find himself a bride – and fast! When he learns that photographer Maggie Ryan is going to be in Milan, Michael hatches a plan to introduce her to his family as his “fiancée.” Never mind that Maggie is confident, independent, and a control freak. Never mind that she’s everything he doesn’t want in a wife… and everything he wants in his bed!

Convinced that Michael is in love with her married gal pal, Maggie agrees to keep up the ruse if he’ll keep away from her friend. Besides, she’s not attracted to charming, ridiculously hot billionaires who drive her nuts. Once they’re in Italy, however, everything changes – and the sexual tension between Maggie and Michael goes from simmer to naked nuclear meltdown!

But have they found the perfect arrangement… or are they trapped in a make-believe marriage?

 
Down for the Count (Dare Me, #1)
Truth or dare…

When Lacey Garrity finds her groom in flagrante delicto in the reception hall closet with her bridesmaid, she’s saved by her best friend’s older brother—childhood tormentor, crush, and boxing bad boy Galen Thomas. Galen’s solution is both exciting and dangerous. What better way to forget the mess of her life than go on her honeymoon with a hot guy who can’t promise anything beyond today?

…or TKO?

Galen had been counting on Lacey’s wedding to put her out of reach—and out of his mind—once and for all, but their steamy Puerto Rican escape is testing all his boundaries. Now that Lacey’s embracing her inner bad girl, Galen is tempted to throw in the towel and claim her for himself. But with the biggest fight of his career on the line and an important business merger threatening to derail Lacey’s resolve, their romance might be down for the count before it even begins.

 
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)
First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire – and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

Comments
  1. Melliane says:

    Oh you'll see soulless is awesome, I love the series! I didn't know the others but Happy reading!

  2. Man what a diverse haul of books you have this week. Great haul of books. Thanks for visiting me as well.Grace

  3. I really want to read the False Prince 🙂 It sounds really good! I hope you enjoy all the books you got. Janina My Haul 🙂

  4. Carmen B. says:

    Great haul! I've wanted to read Soulless for ages but somehow I never got round to it… now I'm waiting for the boxset. And The False Prince sounds really interesting, I hadn't heard of that one before.Enjoy your books, and thanks for stopping by my post!

  5. Great haul! Hope you enjoy your books! :D~Stephanie @ Bookfever

  6. Micheline D says:

    Great & diverse haul this week! I'm SO excited to read the False Prince 😀 Thanks for sharing & happy reading.My StSMicheline @ Lunar Rainbows

  7. OOOh nice! I loooove Gail's series! It's a really fun one too! Probably was my first steampunk book! I still need to read the final book in the series! Happy Reading!My STS will be up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by!Have a GREAT weekend!Old Follower 🙂

  8. Sabina says:

    Great haul! I hope you enjoy them all!Thanks for stopping by my STSSabina @ Delirious About Books

  9. The False Prince sounds great! The Marriage Trap looks smexy! And Soulless sounds creepy! Great stack! Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Nice haul! The False Prince and Soulless are on my TBR list; they're both supposed to be excellent. Happy reading, and thanks for stopping by!

  11. Kim says:

    Ahh, The False Prince looks soooo good! And I've heard endless praise for Gail Carrier's books so I really hope you enjoy them! Fantastic haul and thanks for stopping by c:

  12. Ivana says:

    A bit of everything in your pile! Excellent. I'm all for diversity in reading.Thank you for stopping by my blog. I'm following you now :)Happy reading!

  13. Giselle says:

    Ooh Nice haul! The Gail Carriger series has been on my wishlist for a while it sounds really good!

  14. Katie says:

    I've been meaning to read The False Prince for quite some time. It looks fabulous. Gail Carriger's books also look amazing! Happy reading! Here’s my Stacking The Shelves!

  15. WinterHaven says:

    I love Tim Tebow! I was so sad to see him leave Denver (I live in CO) I have The False Prince on my to read list =) I hope you enjoy all your books this week!Thanks for stopping by!

  16. Jessirae says:

    Down for the Count looks smexxxxy! I'm so checking that one out for sure. LOL. Great haul of books! They look amazing. Hope you love them all! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Ooh wow, some hot covers in this one. I hope you enjoy all of your new goodies!

  18. Great Haul! Down for the Count and The Marriage Trap look great! Actually, they all look great!Thanks for stopping by My STS!I'm a new follower, yay!Happy Reading!

  19. Haven't heard of any of these books, but I hope you enjoy them!Thanks for stopping by.

  20. Soulless looks fantastic and I've heard good things about The Marriage Trap. Happy reading!

  21. Whoo The False Prince! I heard it was being turned into a movie, and when that happened I picked up the book. You know they always do those movie-tie editions and sometimes they aren't as pretty as the original covers lol I'm such a cover snob. Enjoy all your books and thank you for dropping by. Sorry I was so late!——Giselle @ Book Nerd CanadaStacking the Shelves Book Haul

Leave a Reply

