Book Review ~ Spider’s Bite (Elemental Assassin #1) by Jennifer Estep

Posted: October 15, 2012 in 5+, Review, Urban Fantasy
Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1)Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep
 
 
Book Stats:
 
Reading Level: Adult
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format Reviewed: E-book
Publisher: Pocket Books
Release Date: January 26, 2010
 
Series: Elemental Assassin #1
Source: Personal Purchase
 
My name is Gin, and I kill people. They call me the Spider. I’m the most feared assassin in the South — when I’m not busy at the Pork Pit cooking up the best barbecue in Ashland. As a Stone elemental, I can hear everything from the whispers of the gravel beneath my feet to the vibrations of the soaring Appalachian Mountains above me. My Ice magic also comes in handy for making the occasional knife. But I don’t use my powers on the job unless I absolutely have to. Call it professional pride.
Now that a ruthless Air elemental has double-crossed me and killed my handler, I’m out for revenge. And I’ll exterminate anyone who gets in my way — good or bad. I may look hot, but I’m still one of the bad guys. Which is why I’m in trouble, since irresistibly rugged Detective Donovan Caine has agreed to help me. The last thing this coldhearted killer needs when I’m battling a magic more powerful than my own is a sexy distraction…especially when Donovan wants me dead just as much as the enemy.

Why I Read this book?:  I had been wanting to read this series for a long time.  I saw that The Book Vixen was co-hosting a read along for this series and though I’m not actually participating I decided to start reading this series.

What I Liked about this Book?:  I loved pretty much everything about this book.  I really was sucked in from the first line “My name is Gin, and I kill people.”  It’s catchy and it had me extremely excited to see what was going to happen next.  Gin is a very like able character even though she has a pretty despicable job.  The host of secondary characters were really great too.  Besides Gin I loved her makeshift family very much – Fletcher, Finn Sophia and Jo Jo, and in my opinion bring a little something extra to this story.

I really enjoyed reading about the relationship between Donovan Caine and Gin.  He’s a straight laced cop in a police force pretty much owned by Mab Monroe, one of the villains of the book.  Gin did something in the not so distant past that Caine can’t seem to see past and that mixed with his morals makes the whole relationship VERY interesting.

The action in this book was AMAZING!  Right from the very first couple of pages through the end it was an action roller coaster.  One thing that really attracted me to the story initially was that the REAL bad guy wasn’t obvious.  You think you have it figured out and then things change and you weren’t even close.

Overall, I’m really kicking myself that I’ve waited as long as I have to start reading this series.  Gin is an AWESOME heroine who has her own set of issues.  I can hardly wait to see how Gin and her family grow through the rest of this series.  If you haven’t started this series yet I definitely recommend Spiders Bite.

What I didn’t like?: At time’s I thought there was a little bit too much detail when Gin was doing her thing.  That was really the only fault that I could find with the book and it was only on a couple of occasions.  Other than those occasions I can’t really think of anything else that I didn’t care for in this book.

Rating: 5/5

 

Comments
  1. Mariya says:

    Seriously need to catch up on this series! I"ve read up to the third book! But these books are so awesomelly bad-ass! :)) <33333333333

Leave a Reply

