Feature Friday

Posted: October 26, 2012 in Friday Follow
 
Q: What writing device or trick most irritates you when reading a book? For example, if an author employs an omnipotent narrator that is sometimes considered bad form.
 
Here is my list of devices that peeve me off when it comes to books (hopefully this makes sense, I’ve been up all night working)….
 
1. Unlikeable main characters – I’ve read a couple of library books recently (of a couple of recent YA releases) and I was really irritated by the fact that the authors wrote there main characters unlikeable.  I have to connect on some level with the characters and it bothers me when a main character is completely unrelate able much less like able.
 
2. Can’t tell who’s speaking – A few weeks ago I started a book where I could never tell who was speaking.  It seemed to be alternating POV but I’m not 100%, needless to say I was not able to continue on with the book.
 
3. Insta love – Yeah no.  I’ve been know to get rid of books that feature insta love.  It could be the “best story ever” but if there is insta love it’s out the door.  I see red when I come across it.  NOBODY meets and falls MADLY TRULY DEEPLY in love in the span of a paragraph.
 
Well those are my top 3, what about you?
 
Comments
  1. Kate says:

    Insta-love is very predictable!Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Insta-love can be so dull! I'm with you on the unlikable main characters thing. I understand some characters grow over the course of a story, but there needs to be something redeeming even at the beginning. Old follower.Happy Friday!Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

  3. Julie says:

    Oh, I agree with your points. I don't care for cliffhangers, but mostly I hate anything that happens due to coincidence. I like logical steps to a conclusion.New follow via GFC.Julie~ New Adult Addiction

  4. Definitely agree on all three! Insta love is the worst though. Really, that little ploy can only be worked by Disney and it's because they are Disney that it works.It's only as adults now that we want to roll our eyes at that now though! ๐Ÿ˜‰Here's my Follow FridayHave a GREAT weekend!Old Follower ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Unlikeable main characters-definitely. Write them so a reader actually wants to root for them!Old follower.Alise – My FF Post

  6. Love all of your points ๐Ÿ™‚ New Follower via GFC ๐Ÿ™‚My FF Post ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I agree with you on all three points. Liking the MC is a requirement for me to like a book. I am not saying the MC has to be perfect, but I need to care about her.Here's my FF

  8. Myra White says:

    I agree. If I can't tell who's speaking then I'm not really going to understand or enjoy the book, same with an unlikeable MC. Insta-love is annoying, true love within 5 minutes of meeting a person does not happen.Following back. :)Myra @ Pieces of Whimsy

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Hi!Unlikable main characters!! YES! Totally agree. I've read quite a few YA books that I just could not connect with the main character and it ruined the book for me. The only time I might be able to overlook it is if the story takes on a character-like feeling of its own (Uglies series). New follower via GFC :)My F&F: http://nightmareonbookstreet.blogspot.com/2012/10/feature-follow-1.html

  10. Insta-love seems to be the most talked about today! hate it too! :)http://mydailyobsessionreview.blogspot.com/2012/10/feature-and-follow-3.html

  11. I hate it when I can't stand the main character- makes reading through their POV annoying! New GFC follower- thanks for stopping by my blog! My FF~Caitlin ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Rinn says:

    Yep, it's certainly hard to read a novel narrated by someone you can't stand – I had that with Wideacre, but Beatrice was so horrible I wanted to see if she'd get what she deserved, so I finished it.New follower =)Rinn (My FF)

  13. Unlikable characters I've come across a lot lately too. Especially annoying female main characters. Ugh!Old follower!~Stephanie @ Bookfever

  14. Hi! New follower here. I don't understand why an author would make a main character completely unlikable. I agree that they shouldn't be perfect and flaws actually help you connect with them better but if they are unlikable it's hard to like the book.Also, I am giving away a Kindle or Nook (winners choice) on my blog if you are interested. There is only 1 day left to enter the contest!Peace & LoveCrystal @ YA Society

  15. I am loving the fact that you included insta-love. I find I loved it so much as a teen, but now as an adult, you know it's not the case lol.——Giselle @ Book Nerd Canada

Leave a Reply

